DeWitt Life-Day 1

28 Jul

So I decided to follow in the foot steps of some of my dear friends and start a blog. Really, I should thank my husband who really encouraged me to blog. There is SO MUCH going on in our lives right now that really, this is a great way to not only get it out to our friends and fam but also get it off my chest. I don’t know if you know this about me but I tend to internalize things and go to the worse case scenario which usually ends up with me having an incurable disease or living in a van down by the river.

So what is going on in our lives? Well, where do I begin, Steve has been contracting for Payless for the past 6 months and they told him in early July that they would not be renewing his contract. Sales were down and why pay contractors when you have real employees to do the work. So Steve went on the job hunt. Now, let me preface this by saying that Steve and I had talked about how much we loved Colorado, we took our first vacation there and got married there. It holds a special place in our hearts. So when he started applying for jobs he applied for some in Colorado. I was on board but I thought the chances were slim. I wont bore you with the deets but a company called him for a phone interview last Thursday which went incredibly well. They called Friday and wanted to video conference interview which also went very well. They talked about benefits, perks of the jobs, etc. So needless to say Steve and I had a long weekend talking about the real possibility and logistics of Steve moving to Colorado while I stayed here until our townhouse is rented. So on Monday they called and wanted him to come out to Colorado the next week for a third interview.  We are both very excited. Moving to Colorado would be an amazing adventure and now would be the best time. We don’t have kids, unless you count the 4 legged ones, we don’t own a house, I don’t work full-time. There isn’t really anything here that is holding us back…..or is there?

I would love the adventure of Colorado, it’s BEAUTIFUL there, they have mountains, and no humidity! HOLLA! However, I have a very close family. I have 1 older brother who, in the past year or so, have finally become kind of close with which I have wanted for a very long time. I also have 2 cousins that lived in Gardner/Olathe and I love to spend time with them. We do Rumsey cousin get togethers. We spend a lot of holidays together. Also there is my parents who I talk to at least once a day. My grandma is 91 and I have a very special relationship with her. Not to mention all of my friends and sorority sisters are here. I’m so family and friend oriented that moving to a place where I literally know a handful of people will undoubtably be hard. I get that it’s an 8 hour drive and if I had to be in KC, I could be in a very short amount of time but it’s the thought that I wont be available for Rumsey cousin get togethers, random beers with my brother, lunch with my mom, etc. So needless to say last weekend, I did some crying over my Bud Light….I blame the beer. Of course if I told Steve I wanted to stay in Kansas, we would but I decided to grab this adventure (should it come to fruition) by the horns and ride it out. We could start this whole new chapter of our lives in Colorado! And come on now, who doesn’t want to come visit Colorado especially when you have a free place to stay? Yes, that is an open invite to all our friends to come visit should we move there.

So for my first blog post, that was a little long and perhaps uninteresting but I wanted to start my blog with what is going on right now and from the length, you can tell there is  A LOT going on. So for my next post, I’ll talk about beer. It will be awesome because who doesn’t like awesome beer? Thanks for reading friends.

Leave a Reply

